Price of Freedom, Long Story Short…

xx-fretbONCE UPON A TIME, back in my high-test high-stress days, sturm und drang, stormy and stressful, not infrequently the case in Flagstaff, Arizona, weather-wise but pound-foolish, I had a vehicle without a speedometer, so I never really knew how fast I was going, just whatever felt right no small consideration in an old cargo van where nothing ever feels exactly right, it most at home when hauling firewood not ass…

So back in those stormy days of trying to start-up a bizniz from scratch 1987-92 if I remember correctly I got speeding tickets regularly like once a year approximately and every time I was clipping along at exactly 78mph/126kph, once that even in a 55mph zone in California, 65 the norm on Interstates then, so quite pricey the final settlement cop seemed surprised that I wasn’t drunk driving like a maniac in his opinion in his home state but I guess he never tried to get home to Flagstaff after leaving San Fran at 15:00 without the advantage of fancy wheels or hindsight…

Long story short after five years of that something had to change of course not a sustainable bizniz plan getting speeding tickets every year so the last time I got stopped for speeding going up I-17 from Phoenix to Flagstaff, the Native American policeman noticed my ‘Free Tibet’ bumper sticker (remember them?) and asked if I was Tibetan so I thought about it then said ‘no’ of course but he didn’t give me a ticket and I never got stopped again for speeding I’m better now no not really THE END.

